Happy Active Aging Week!

Happy Active Aging Week!

Look! It's Geezer League Powder Puff Football!

Look! It’s Geezer League Powder Puff Football!

No, seriously, it is a real week, and why not? Every other noun from ethic groups to foods to diseases have a month, a week, or at the very least, a day.

Whatever they are on, I want some. No, not the bicycles. The meds!

Whatever they are on, I want some. No, not the bicycles. The meds!

So, yes, Happy Active Aging Week! ‘Cuz none of us are actively aging during the other 51 weeks each year.  Why not call it “One Week Closer to Death Week!” Hmmm…I guess that does sound a little redundant.

It's good to know that the chicks from the Robert Palmer video have aged really well.

It’s good to know that the chicks from the Robert Palmer video have aged really well.

In any case I was oblivious to Active Aging Week until my husband mentioned it on the way out the door this morning. I guess I’m just not as tuned into the geriatric news as I should be.

I'm never this happy while working out.

I’m never this happy while working out.

For quite some time, however, I have noticed that the marketing of products and services to senior citizens more often than not contains the word “active.” Everything is designed to help you stay “active” longer. And ads always show pictures of really happy old people dancing, hiking, mountain biking…or if we are to believe the Taco Bell ad from the 2013 Super Bowl, they are all out skinny-dipping and getting tattoos.

Okay, that's pretty damn impressive at any age! Can you do that? I can't.

Okay, that’s pretty damn impressive at any age! Can you do that? I can’t.

Did you watch it? Do you buy it? I don’t. I don’t even think they are old actors. I think they are young actors in “wrinkle-face.”

And this one...I think it is Photo-shopped. I could be wrong, but I doubt it.

And this one…I think it is Photo-shopped. I could be wrong, but I doubt it.

In my experience, old people do not want tattoos or skinny-dipping or loud music or Taco Bell. It gives them heartburn. They want Bob Evans and a long nap.  Old people love Bob Evans.

And this one...Oh, I don't want to think about this one, but when you google "Active Old People," you should expect to get a picture of SEXUALLY active old people.

And this one…Oh, I don’t want to think about this one, but when you google “Active Old People,” you should expect to get a picture of SEXUALLY active old people.

Leave a Reply

