Lord, lead me not into bacon. I mean, temptation.

I’m fasting again. It’s the afternoon—yep, right around 3 pm—and I am hungry.

Remember The Simpson episode in which Homer's head was turned into a doughnut and so he kept eating it? Yeah, if I were bacon, I'd bite myself.

Remember The Simpson episode in which Homer’s head was turned into a doughnut and so he kept eating it? Yeah, if I were bacon, I’d bite myself.

Last week, I shared my fasting experiences in this blog. I was supposed to fast a second time during the same week, but I could never find a good time to do so. I didn’t want to fast on a day in which I might go grocery shopping. I didn’t want to fast on a day in which I was stuck at home with access to a full refrigerator. I didn’t want to fast when I was out and about and might be tempted by (gasp) fast food. I didn’t want to fast on pizza-night or a night in which I might use the grill. Obviously, drinking alcohol is out of the question on a fast day, and so I didn’t want to do it if I had an open bottle of wine handy.

So, that left…hmmm…that left me with the conclusion that there is never a good day for fasting. If I try hard enough I will always have an excuse not to do it because it is hard. Yeah, like going to the gym or writing thank you notes or doing housework. If I don’t want to do something, I can come up with a lengthy list of reasons why I can’t or shouldn’t.

Also, when I fasted last week, I was psyched about it. I was looking forward to impressing myself with my own fortitude. I had researched what I could eat that would keep my daily in-take under 500 calories, and the challenge seemed exciting.

I just couldn’t muster the enthusiasm for hunger in the wake of that first day. So, I waited a full week.

This morning, I woke up and thought, “If not NOW, when? Just do it! Whether I think I can or can’t, I’m absolutely right. Life is too short for excuses. Today is the first day of the rest of my life…” It was like being trapped in a motivational poster montage. I just needed images of sunsets, extremely fit people, or cute baby animals.

So,today, I’m fasting and I’m hungry, but I’ve survived what I believe to be the greatest obstacle: Bacon.

Yep, bacon. My children asked for it for breakfast and so I made them each two slices of bacon even though inwardly, I was crying, “Nooooooooo! Pick something else! Anything else!” And I did because I wanted to prove that I was capable of touching and smelling that hot, juicy, fried pig goodness without succumbing to the temptation of tasting it. It was empowering. And yes, I know how lame that must sound, but I do feel empowered because I didn’t give into the temptation of bacon! I am invincible.

Now, I’m watching the clock. At 4pm, I will make my supper—wild rice with onions and zucchini. Now, that is a meal worth having. It could only be made better with bacon.

One thought on “Lord, lead me not into bacon. I mean, temptation.

  1. Karla Swain

    Love You! It is all so true. I can’t even make myself believe there is a reason to exercise over having a drink much less fast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

