Blogger Help Needed

So, I’ve been blogging for a little more than a month now. I have some followers. I’ve had over 1000 hits–some coming from as far away as Finland and the Philippines . The feedback I have received so far has been very positive. Thank you! I agree that what I’ve written here is some of my best writing. When I re-read my work, I find a lot of typos and little things that need tweaking, but so far, I haven’t posted anything that I think is just so terrible that I cringe and delete. (And believe me, I have written a lot of cringe-worthy stuff!)

But here’s the thing: It’s some very personal writing. It’s very real and very raw. Out of consideration for others, I haven’t used names–I know people can get funny about that. And obviously, I would never, ever post anyone’s address, phone number, or even last name here.

The one time I did use a personal name–Mary in Young Together— she was flattered, and she reposted on her Facebook page. Thank you, Mary!

So, now I’m asking you, what do you think I should do re: using people’s first names in my blog. In the end, I will do what I want, but I am open to other people’s thoughts on this matter, and I haven’t made up my mind. Should I use real names, but first names only? Make up names–I know other bloggers do that especially for their children? Or continue writing about people in a very vague way using only pronouns and vague terms?

Vote in this poll or send me a response via Facebook, email, comment, or a phone call. Thank you!

One thought on “Blogger Help Needed

  1. rebecca

    You forgot other when I post on the web I use first letter of person’s name. So G has been a real pill. If it is people who have the same name then it could be M1 and M2. Or a variation of the name if that is what you choose. Or you can say all names have been changes but still use the names.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

