Too Old for Surgery? Not If You Are Married To The Queen.

Is that the Duke of Edinburgh or Montgomery Burns? Either way, I wish him well. May his recovery be speedy. May his heart be satisfied.

Is that the Duke of Edinburgh or Montgomery Burns? Either way, I wish him well. May his recovery be speedy. May his heart be satisfied.

Of course, it is none of my business, but did you read that Prince Philip (AKA Mr. Queen Elizabeth) is undergoing an exploratory operation? He’s almost 92, and I can’t help but ask, “Why?”

I know no one owes me an explanation—I’m not a member of the royal family or even a subject of the British crown, but I’ve read a couple of articles and none of them answer that question. They don’t go into any detail about what they hope to gain or how he might benefit from the operation.

I don’t know much about his overall health, but I do know that he passed the average life expectancy almost two decades ago. I can’t imagine he will be around that much longer no matter what kind of procedure they perform on him. I’m even somewhat certain that even the simplest surgery will involve a long and difficult recovery for his old body. Still, I wish him well.

I hope that if I live that long I won’t be willing to go under the knife for any reason, but I’m not naïve enough to say “never” or judge anyone for choosing something that I can’t comprehend. We are all on a spiritual journey and the Duke of Edinburgh is at a different place in his walk than I am with mine. More power to him.

One thought on “Too Old for Surgery? Not If You Are Married To The Queen.

  1. bestronginthelord

    My 92 year old grandmother in law had open heart surgery at 90, and a pacemaker put in last month!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

